An authentic all-day breakfast place

All-day breakfast places are such a hype these days that the hipster in me refused to patronise them for the past few months. I am happy with my local hawker food and teh ci peng siew dai (milk tea) that don’t cost an arm and a leg. The mood to try somewhere new finally hit me on Saturday and it was a toss between Maison Kayser and Wild Honey. We eventually chose Wild Honey because we felt that we would probably order quite a bit to fill ourselves up if we ate at Maison Kayser.

Caffeine was our top priority! Muahaha. The ice vanilla latte was great but the roasted almond latte was puuurfect. The thick layer of foam came with a smiley face and the nutty aroma would send you to caffeine heaven in a sip.The Aussie was probably the most humongous dish in the menu. 240 gram of steak came with fried potatoes, tomatoes, mushrooms and a big piece of charred toast. Mushrooms are a must for us, and those tomatoes were the overpriced ones that I have been eying at the grocery store for a while! Every part of the dish was well thought off and executed although we felt the steak was slightly blend.‘I Love New York’ truly deserves its name. I have been craving for a bagel for the longest time ever since I was back from US three years ago, and I can finally say with a huge grin that I have tasted a kick-ass bagel in Singapore.

To give you an idea how difficult it is to find a decent bagel, I have actually tried all the bagels I have seen – Starbucks, Coffee Bean, Pullman Bakery, NYC Bagel from the supermarket and even tried it in the New York cafe at Tokyo Disney Sea.

$24 is not what I would expect to pay for a bagel, but this is different. They made their own cream cheese and there was smoked sturgeon and caramelised onions in their fluffy scrambled eggs. It would have definitely been a fishy disaster if it wasn’t cooked well.

The deco of the place was cute, and we were very well attended by the staff which doesn’t happen as often as I would like in Singapore. Certainly spurred the holiday mood in me and that’s money well spent. 🙂

Wild Honey
6 Scotts Road, #03-01 Scotts Square, Singapore

2 thoughts on “An authentic all-day breakfast place

  1. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was doing a little research on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this topic here on your web site.

  2. May I just say what a relief to find someone that really understands what they’re discussing on the internet. You certainly realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people ought to look at this and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you are not more popular since you surely possess the gift.

    Excellent article. I definitely appreciate this site. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

